Our Team

Left to right (* are no longer with TCNL): Kim Skinner, Janerra Allen*, Nick Perkl*, Janet Ruhland, Kurt Kaczmarek, Amy Remm*, Yuri Danilov, Yakov Verbny, Alex LaVanway*, Ann Pahnke*, Mitch Tyler, Shekina Cardona*, Georgia Corner. 

Vision and Mission

Our Vision is to become a leading interdisciplinary research center for advancing the theory and application of induced neuroplasticity to aid persons with sensory and neurological needs. 

Our Mission is to probe the limits of human performance in healthy and impaired states, understand the underlying physiological mechanisms, develop effective and practical methods for human performance restoration, and educate others on how to effectively apply these methods. 

Our Method is to create a local and extended collaborative environment for students and senior researchers in basic science, engineering, and clinical science to share and develop concepts that advance sensory substitution and non-invasive neuromodulation.

Through our research, we envision a world is which the brain's inherent and amazing ability to reorganize itself can be harnessed to help people with motor and sensory disabilities improve function. 

Students and Collaborators

Our team includes a number of students and collaborators. We work with graduate students from multiple fields including biomedical engineering, electrical engineering, and neuroscience. Our collaborators include individual researchers from multiple departments at the University of Wisconsin - Madison as well as industry partners.

Employment at TCNL

Our lab is a non-profit, self-funded organization. When funds allow, we will post openings for researchers, scientists, graduate student research and project assistants, or undergraduate student assistants. 

Support and Donations 

Like many non-profit laboratories, at the TCNL, our ability to conduct research is largely dependent on our ability to fund it. We rely heavily on private support and donations to help advance promising early stage research that is not yet ready to attract major grant funding. Please visit our Donate and Supporters pages to learn how you can be a part of this amazing research.

Project Directors

Our team is led by three project directors, Kurt Kaczmarek, Mitchell Tyler and Yuri Danilov, who have a combined total of 65 years of experience in neuroscience, biomedical science, and engineering. 


We are thankful to all our collabora­tors for their knowledge, insight, and interest in research of neuro­plasticity, sensory substitution, and non-invasive neuromodulation. 

Individual Collaborators 

Industrial Spin-offs

These spin-off companies operate independently from TCNL.  

Former Staff

  • Jackie Braun
  • Shekina Cordona
  • Marwan Estiban
  • Ed Fisher
  • Steve Haase
  • ​Ann Pahnke
  • ​Amy Remm
  • Kathleen Rust
  • Kim Skinner
  • Alla Subbotin

Our Alumni

  • Sam Acuna
  • Janerra Allen
  • Shekina Cardona
  • ​Michelle Chiang
  • ​Swapnil Deshpande
  • Nick Droessler
  • Richard Hantke
  • ​Nicole Hangsterfer
  • Kelsey Lynn Hawkins
  • Anand Jayaraman
  • Chris Larson
  • Alex LaVanway
  • Brent Ledvina
  • ​Isaac Loegering
  • Cecil Lozano
  • Danielle McIntosh
  • Brittany Moreno
  • Krishnakant Nammi
  • Uche Okpara
  • ​Nick Perkl
  • ​Kristen Rasske
  • Matt Schanning
  • ​Kaitlyn Shaughnessy
  • ​Chloe Smith
  • Aishwarya Sreenivasan
  • ​Swetha Srinivasan
  • Suwandi Suwandi
  • ​Sam Thao
  • ​Gayatri Vishwanathan
  • ​Leo Walton
  • Eric White
  • Joe Wildenberg
  • Adam Wilson

Our Students

Shannon Sullivan